Roller Queen

Created March, 2013.

Derby Skate

One afternoon while Nick and I were browsing in Grey’s Fabric and Notions, in the South End of Boston, I came across a pack of Roller Derby themed embroidery designs.  Who would have thought that these existed?  I still don’t see much of a link between Derby and sewing, but there’s something out there for everyone – or in this case, for a pair of people.  I had embroidery skills – rusty though they were – and I have a friend who is a member of a team in the Sydney Roller Derby League!  What luck!  Of course, this friend had to choose the team with the camo and red colors, and I really wanted to make something colorful.  Oh well – at least the red adds a little bit of interest.

Roller Queen

I stitched out these two designs on to a piece of linen, and left a wide border so that said friend could use them as patches on whatever she liked.  I have a feeling that they’ve probably ended up under her bed.  I’m a little sad, as I thought they were a neat idea, but given the questionable quality of the workmanship I completely understand her decision.

Just in case her and her teammates were interested I sent an opened packet of the designs along with the patches.  For some reason I’m still not convinced that any of these ladies are in to what Nick so lovingly calls “stitchy stuff,” but people are always surprising.  I’d love to see some of these designs popping up on the team website, but I’m not holding my breath.  Maybe next year I’ll make something that can be incorporated in to my friend’s costume… if that’s what it’s called.  Surely it can’t be a uniform when everyone is wearing something different, can it?

 

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

One thought on “Roller Queen”

Join in the Discussion

