High Fidelity – Cushions featuring Geeky Chic by Riley Blake

Completed January, 2013

Of course, I got stuck in to a new project for myself and I began to feel bad about the number of UFOs laying around that I’d began making for other people.  The first thing I pulled from the pile were these cushion tops that I’d put together back in September, and were in need of some backing and binding.

Geekly Chic Riley Blake Cushions
I always find it difficult to imagine what I might make to gift to a grown man, but I desperately wanted to make something for a dear friend of mine.  Riley Blake’s Geekly Chic to the rescue again!  These cassette tapes designed by Amy Adams were just perfect for my friend, who’s an avid and talented dancer.  I did go back and forth between the audio tape and records prints, but eventually decided that not only should I probably keep the design minimal, but also that unlike myself and a handful of others in my circle – currently all in our mid to late twenties – most of my friends have probably consigned the vinyl to a handful of vague childhood memories – no matter how musically inclined they are.

Geekly Chic Riley Blake Cushions

I was trying to keep these as simple as possible, so both the piecing and the quilting are really basic.  Batting is Dream Orient, which is lovely and soft, and backing and binding are Kona, and the cushions are pieced and quilted using Aurifil thread.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

4 thoughts on “High Fidelity – Cushions featuring Geeky Chic by Riley Blake”

Join in the Discussion

