And Finally, Something for Myself

Work in progress, began December, 2013

I think it will be a while until I get my Lone Star quilt tops finished and ready to be sent out, but I decided it was finally time to make something for myself.  

I’d had these lovely Kona roll ups sitting around and I’m so in love with bold brightness of the New Classics Collection.  The vast majority of the quilts I’ve seen made from this roll pair it with white, so I decide to do something a little different and put in a black roll up – or possibly it was because I had a black and a grey roll up on hand the black was the clear winner of the two as the grey is really designed to go with another project.

Like most quilters I know, I saw these on sale and snapped them up with no real plan for how to use them, and finding a pattern was more difficult than I’d expected.  I’d had a vague idea of going with plain strips arranged in some sort of rainbow order, but while these quilts are always striking, I felt I could do something a little more complex.  It took me an entire day of searching to find a pattern that both appealed to me, and didn’t assume that I had some sort of magic roll up on hand that came with sixty different colors.  Perhaps these do exist, but I’ve never seen one.

Then I found a perfect pattern, designed by the team at Better Off Thread and courtesy of Robert Kaufman fabrics.

I was a little put off by the thought of having so many diagonal seams to match, but it’s something I thought I needed practice with, and was mildly less frustrating than making another star at this point.  And it’s all part of the learning curve isn’t it?

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

One thought on “And Finally, Something for Myself”

Join in the Discussion

