Mustachioed – Riley Blake’s Geekly Chic Moustache Cushions.

Created October, 2013

I absolutely love the 2013 Geekly Chic collection from Riley Blake Designs!  There’s always something perfect in there for someone who’s a little unconventional, and I thought this mustache print was print was perfect for my Roller Derby friend.

Mustachioed 1

This was my first experience using traditional quilt binding, and honestly, I found myself completely over the hand finish once I’d finished one cushion.  Still, I persevered, if for no other reason than I was staying with my Dad in Bangkok and had not the faintest idea of how I would access a sewing machine.  Well, perhaps Goong will become interested in sewing one of these days and get her own machine – after all, there is a Bernina factory in Chiang Mai…  Well, I can dream.  And I did; while I was diligently hand sewing the binding to the back side.

 Mustachioed 2

Ultimately, I think this friend’s mother liked the cushions more than she did, but at least someone enjoyed them.

I’m sorry that I didn’t take any individual photos of these, as they were all quilted differently.  I had thought I’d gone a little over board with my choice of quilting thread, which was from the line Tula Pink designed for Aurifil, but it’s not noticeable from this distance, so it can’t have been a terrible choice.

I hope these cushions are currently enjoying their million dollar views of Sydney Harbour from their new home – or the underside of said Roller Derby loving friend’s bed.  It’s a coin toss.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

One thought on “Mustachioed – Riley Blake’s Geekly Chic Moustache Cushions.”

Join in the Discussion

