My Unconventional Christmas Stocking – Kona Cotton Solids and Garden Diva’s by Jane Sassaman

Created November, 2013

Stocking - Side ATo be honest, it’s been years since I’ve thought about Christmas decorations.  It’s not something that’s come up as until this year I had lived alone and was often traveling over the holiday season.  It’s been even longer since I’ve been interested in the traditional red, green, and white color scheme.

When I signed up to take the Christmas stocking class at the Cambridge Quilt Shop, I decided to reach in to my stash, and put together something a little unconventional.  Or maybe it did have at least a little to do with convenience.  At this time I was still very much concerned about pre washing all my fabric – and now, to be honest, I usually don’t bother unless I think the colors are going to run – and as I’d returned from a trip home only days previously I didn’t have time to get out and buy Christmas themed fabric, then wash it.  I barely got this stuff washed as it was.  I didn’t have anything suitable on hand for the cuff, so I picked up this lovely print from Jane Sassaman’s Garden Diva’s collection at the shop.  And now I know how to preshrink fabric by hand, but I’m hoping that’s not a skill I’ll have to use very often.

Stocking Side B

For a first go, I think this turned out really well.  I suppose that means that the countless hours I’ve spent with my sewing machine during 2013 actually did help improve my skills.

I did make this for a friend, but I suppose it will have to do for this year’s Christmas.  I really don’t have the patience to deal with the post office during the holiday season.

It’s a shame I didn’t end up getting around to making more of these, but I have the template and can put some together later in the year.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

