Non-Christmas Quilted Ornaments – Playing with Tula Pink’s Acacia

Created December, 2013

Acacia Ornaments 1A few months ago I came across a tutorial for these really simple “quilted” Christmas ornaments and just had to give making some a go.

In keeping with my long running aversion to anything that looks Christmassy, I decided to did in to my stash of Tula Pink’s Acacia fabric.  I’m sure its some sort of sacrilege to cut up such lovely fabric for this purpose, but I do love the color scheme and the contrast.  Nick loves how the raccoons’ eye peep out from some of the pieces.  Boys never do grow up, do they?

Acacia Ornaments 2After spending a few nights putting these together I very much recommend that if you’re going to try this, invest in some sort of thimble.  I prefer the disposable, sticky, plastic kind (very wasteful of me, I know) to metal thimbles, which seem to to be the only two options in the stores I’ve visited.  They will leave your fingers a little gooey, but they’re thick enough to cushion the pin heads, and flexible enough to allow for some degree of movement.  I haven’t tried a rubber thimble yet, so that’s on my list of options for the future – although I’ve still got a ton of Thimble-Its to use up.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

