The Cabin at Sunset – Log Cabin Cushions

Log Cabin Cushions 1

Continuing to get through my pile of UFOs by completing a set of cushions that are a something of a colorful interpretation of a classic.  I made these using fabrics from the Kona Sunset fat quarter bundle.  The greens and purples are so perfect for a friend of mine, who was my childhood nanny, and very influential in getting me in to arts and crafts.  She even lent me her sewing machine back when I was in Sydney making all those stuffed toys for my friends.

I quilted them all a little differently, partly to create a bit of variation, but also for the sake of playing around.

Log Cabin Cushions 2

The quilting lines aren’t particularly straight, and I had some thread tension issues in one particular area, which unfortunately happened to be right in the middle of one of the cushions.  Unfortunately the machine Nick gave me in 2012 was great for piecing, but not fantastic for quilting.  I ended up upgrading to a lovely Bernina while I was in Australia, as they’re possibly the only thing that’s cheaper there.  Putting the backing and binding on with the new machine was such a breeze!

Log Cabin Cushion 2

I’m currently looking at the box of cushion cover tops that I put together in early autumn and am a little disappointed in them all.  That’s partly to do with having a more suitable machine now, and partly due to my improved skill.  I deemed them all acceptable aside from one set, which I’ll have to remake when I have some suitable fabric.

Log Cabin Cushion 3

I’m sure Former Nanny will love the cushions; her husband, Horticulturalist, on the other hand, possibly not much.

The batting is Dream Orient, the tops were pieced with Aurifil, and quilted with a green Aurifil thread, and purple Mettler

.Log Cabin Cushion 1

 

Update:  Thankfully Former Nanny and Horticulturalist both loved the cushions, which is a relief, as I was a little worried about them, particularly as she is a very talented sewist.  For some reason I don’t quite understand, Horticulturalist says they’re they’re so nice that they should use them as placemats.  I suggested that perhaps I could send them some actual place mats once I have a little free time.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

3 thoughts on “The Cabin at Sunset – Log Cabin Cushions”

Join in the Discussion

