Toy Box Quilt – Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!

Created December, 2013

After successfully making one Toy Box quilt top, I decided to make another for the son of some family friends.  His father is Australian, and his mother is American, but since I’ve known his father for twenty something years and met his mother once, I went to dad for advice on the color scheme.  Unsurprisingly, as the family were living in the States at the time, he asked for green and gold (on the condition that I didn’t ask mum for her suggestions).  Toy Box Quilt 2

I had a really tough time finding yellow and green fabrics that were suitable for a small boy.  I still think the lady bugs are a little much, but the store was very low on options.  I do try to support local business, but I think there’s often something to be said in favor of the larger, internet-based retailers.  Lesson learned here as well.  I do really like the turtle, frog, and lizard print.  And the prints actually work well together because neither of them are directional.  Unfortunately I can’t remember who designed these prints – I do like to give credit where credit’s due – but the solids are by Kona, the batting by Quilter’s Dream, and the quilting by Heirloom Quilts by Elle.

Hopefully Dave and his parents are pleased with this.

The construction was very similar to that of my first Toy Box quilt, so please follow that link if you’re curious.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

One thought on “Toy Box Quilt – Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!”

Join in the Discussion

