Skulls and Candy – Geekly Chic by Riley Blake Designs Cushions

I’m sure you’re all bored to death me rattling on about my love for Riley Blake DesignsGeekly Chic line, and its ability to save me and my friends from girly quilt tedium.  This is my last Geekly Chic project for the time being.  For those of you who haven’t been following along, you can see my very similar project from this line here, and my somewhat different one here.

Geekly Chic Skulls

I made these for a very dear friend of mine, who I haven’t seen for almost four years, but keep in regular touch with.  Remembering the sorts of things she liked when we were physical, as opposed to electronic, presences in each other’s lives, I thought that this fabric, simply pieced, with some simple quilting, would be just the ticket.  I have a feeling that she’s moved on somewhat since then, and that these probably belong somewhat to another life.  The problem is, I don’t have a distinct idea as to what she’s moved on to, so these are getting sent regardless.  I’m sure she’ll love them anyway, and hopefully they’ll remind her that I still love her madly, despite the infrequency of our communications.

The batting is Dream Orient, which I love as it’s so soft and lovely to work with, and doesn’t add too much bulk to the cushion cover.  The cotton is Aurifil 4670, from the Tula Pink collection.

It’s not completely obvious in the photo, but I think I’ve come a long way with my finish.  The binding sits much more smoothly now than it used to, and I’ve developed a system for machine binding the back that is much more efficient than the one I was previously using.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

3 thoughts on “Skulls and Candy – Geekly Chic by Riley Blake Designs Cushions”

Join in the Discussion

