It was so worth it! – Shoreline Quilt Top

As promised, here are a few photos of my Shoreline (pattern by Tula Pink) quilt top. I’m currently putting a backing together, and waiting on a bit of fabric, but hoping I’ll be able to get this off to Mandy by the end of next week.

If you’ve been reading my other posts, you’ll know how much of a pain I found putting this quilt together. I really don’t know how that happened. I have such strong memories of making my first one, which is only five inches shorter, in a really short span of time, and finding it a breeze. Now I find myself image searching other Shoreline quilts and seeing how great it looks with different fabrics, and wanting to make about five of them. Please, if I ever bring that up, remind me that it’s a terrible idea.

I can’t tell you how grateful I am to the ladies in my sewing group for keeping me motivated. I sewed about half of it at home, and by that point, I couldn’t face it any more, so the rest of it was done in the shop. I think I just needed people to talk to while I sat through all that seemingly endless pinning.

tulla_pink_shorelineThe best thing though: it was 100% worth it. I’m so pleased with how this turned out. I’m loving it way more than my original, which is still waiting to be quilted and might be put off for a little while. Has anyone looked at the price of those Aurifil  cones recently?!

It really comes down to a shift in color placement. I didn’t think about it a whole lot with the original, but when I came to make this one, I put the colors I liked most in the middle, which moved the pinks – some of which I find quite lackluster – to the outside.

I’m so happy with how this turned out. It was a long slog – four months is way to long to take to make a quilt this simple! – but I’m so pleased that I hung in there, even though there were moments that I was so sick of this that I just wanted to burn it.

tula_pink_shoreline2

To see the finished quilt, and some absolutely amazing quilting by Mandy, click here.

In other news, I’ve finally gotten over my pity party. My Daybreak is unsalvageable. We managed to get the staining out with a product we purchased at the pet store, but it made the colors run, and it was consensus of everyone who was in the store last time I visited that this was unfixable.

Time to rethink my gift strategy.

Happy quilting!

– Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

2 thoughts on “It was so worth it! – Shoreline Quilt Top”

Join in the Discussion

