Rock Candy

On the subject of series, I decided that due to time constraints, I was going to have to ditch my original plans of making three quilts and a handful of table toppers, and settle with one quilt, and a ton of these Jaybird Quilts, ‘Rock Candy,’ table toppers. Here are the two that I made last week.

I almost ditched this idea altogether, because at some point the shop held a class on these. I missed the class, and wasn’t able to speak with the instructor, but Lynn told me that her understanding was that the pattern was incredibly fiddly. I interpreted this as, “this will take forever.” I was actually surprised when they didn’t. If I can make one of these in a day, I’m sure anyone with basic sewing skills can. And isn’t it wonderful to be able to put together something so incredible looking in such a short amount of time?

I’m not entirely sure that I made the right choice with the colors though. The first is a mix of the Kona Summer 2013 set.j bird quilts rockcandy

The other two are from the 2014 new colors set. jbird quilts rockcandy

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New Colors 2014

I’m starting to wonder whether I should have taken all the charm packs I own and mixed them according to some sort of theme. But oh well. They are what they are, and I still think they look amazing (if I do say so myself) and are probably a little more fun this way.

Perhaps one day I’ll muster the energy to start hand washing my charm squares before I sew, but at this point, I just don’t have the time for it. My apologies in advance to my friends who are getting dry clean only gifts. How do I know that these are dry clean only? Well, I have actually made three of them. One, I soaked in cold water over night to try and get rid of a little bit of a stain that was on the fabric, and of course the colors ran. Still, it’s way less devastating to waste half a charm pack and a day of work than it was to lose a whole quilt. I feel like I’m not having very much luck at the moment. I’ll just be sure to keep all my other work away from water. And I may have to stop drinking tea while I’m sewing.

Until next time, happy quilting,

Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

2 thoughts on “Rock Candy”

Join in the Discussion

