Rock Candy: Sunrise

Here’s the second installation in my Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy series, made with the Kona Sunrise colorway. I’m sure that by the time I’m finished with these you’ll be as sick of seeing them pop up on my blog as I will be of making them. They are such rewarding little things to make though, so I hope I don’t end up hating the pattern, but full disclosure: I think I’ve got another twelve or so to make. I’ll try to put them up in groups where possible.

I’ve had a very strange relationship with these tops. I finally got around to reading Julie’s tips for cutting diamonds with the Sidekick. I can’t believe that I spent five months wondering why all the other shapes had easy match edges and this one didn’t! Silly me! What a wonderful development – without having to mark all the seams, I can now make two tops in a day! Needless to say, I was thrilled by this development: if for no other reason than I have so many gifts to make, and part of me feels that giving everyone a variation on the same thing is the most diplomatic way of gift giving. And I also have a huge stash of charm packs, and can’t find anything charm square table topper, runner, or placemat, pattern that I love this much.Rock Candy Jaybird Quilts Kona Sunrise

The problem with these is that the seams just didn’t match up quite as nicely as I’d like.  Particularly in the center, but the thought of unpicking, and repinning, and restitching, was too much.

On Sunday night I went to bed thinking that perhaps these were practice pieces, and at the very least I could do some experimentation with the quilting on them.

Rock Candy Sunrise Kona Jaybird Quilts

On Monday morning, I decided they weren’t that bad, and that I liked them. By Monday evening, I was back to being slightly ashamed of my piecing, but decided that with the right batting, I could somewhat hide the imperfectly matched seams.

Yesterday, I decided I was being ridiculous. Nothing hand made is perfect, and my friends and family will love them regardless. So, I got over myself, asked Nick to snap a few photos, and decided to put them on the blog.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona Sunrise

Happy quilting! – Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

3 thoughts on “Rock Candy: Sunrise”

Join in the Discussion

