Kiss Kiss – Part II

I finished the second part of my ‘Kiss, Kiss’ series: two wall hangings. One is mine, and the other is for my friend Annette, who appreciates the value of hand made. She decided that she wanted the top as is, as she wanted to have a go at some hand quilting on it. I can’t wait to see what she makes, and I’m hoping she’ll be kind enough to allow me to share it with you.Kiss Kiss Tula Pink Parisville Mist

I’m having a bit of a think on two things now:

Firstly, what background color do I want to use for the quilt? I’m starting to think a light grey would be preferable to the cream. I’ll make a decision on that one quite quickly, I think. I’d like to have this done ASAP (although I’m still waiting on some fabric for a border) because everything’s just coming together so quickly. I have quite a selection of grey yardage, so I might spend some time auditioning colors tomorrow.

Tula Pink Parisville Mist Kiss KissThe second is, what do I do with the third wall hanging or giant cushion set I can make in this colorway, now that I’m out of Fans in Mist? I still have Fans in Pomegranate. The mixed colorways could look really nice together. I initially put the Fans aside for the borders, and they don’t appear anywhere else in the tops, so if I go with another Mist option it will have to be something I’ve already used, which I’m not totally keen on. I wish I could buy more fans, but the prices of out of print Tula are ridiculously inflated, and I hate the idea that speculators, or people who purchased fabric and never got around to using it, are making a ton off it, and the designer sees none of that. I almost did give in and buy some, but I just can’t find a way of justifying the purchase. I think this is a completely new feeling for me. I’m sure I can justify almost any purchase of fabric, but not this one: particularly after reading this article about how little fabric designers make.Tula Pink Kiss Kiss Parisville Mist

Happy quilting. – Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

One thought on “Kiss Kiss – Part II”

Join in the Discussion

