Rock Candy: New Classic

I can’t tell you how much fun it was to finally pull out a charm pack that had colors I could artfully arrange! These are definitely my favorite Rock Candy tops so far, made with the Kona New Classic set.  Regular visitors to my blog will know that I’ve used this colorway before, and absolutely love it.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Table Topper Kona New Classic

I also worked out a much more effective way of matching the diagonal seams than I’d previously been using, so these are better constructed than the ones I’d made previously. This was another, “how thick am I?” moment though. It was such an obvious, small, change I made to my technique, that I’m embarrassed to share it.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New Brights WhiteAnd I suppose now I’m in to the art of passive aggressive gift giving. Who do I love enough to want to give them one of my favorite table toppers, but dislike enough to give them something that’s dry clean only and will get dirty really easily? I’ll have to think long and hard on this one, but it’s entirely possible that this ends up being one that I keep. I will entertain suggestions though.

Click here if you’d like to see the tops I made in the Summer 2013, and New Colors 2014 color ways, and here for the Sunrise collection.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New Classic

Happy quilting! – Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

2 thoughts on “Rock Candy: New Classic”

  1. Come on share your secret for making it better. Although I have to say I have loved them all. I know it wouldn’t bother me to get something the you had to dry clean and I don’t think to get such a great gift anyone else would mind either.

    1. Hi Patti. As I said, so simple that it’s slightly embarrassing. I use a 1/4 inch seam gauge and mark with chalk. I was taught to pin through the chalk, which actually puts the matching points a millimeter or two outside of the sewing line. Now I pin just inside the markings and the diagonals match up so much better.

      And thank you so much for the compliment.

      Happy sewing,
      Jane

Join in the Discussion

