Rock Candy: Kona New Dusty

 

Oh, the little charm pack that couldn’t. I was really surprised by this pack, because it seems very rare to end up with a pack that’s exactly 5 x 5, but if anything, they tend to be a little larger than stated. This one, contained pieces as small as 4 x 4¾, and as large as 5½ x 5½, so I had to cut a lot of these individually, which slowed me down a lot, as I tend to cut in stacks of six. Fortunately, I managed to get two pieces out of almost all of the squares.Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy New Dusty Kona

I had a bit of a love-hate relationship with the New Dusty colorway.  As I was cutting and piecing them, I was so sure I would end up disliking these; that they wouldn’t be particularly striking; that the colors were too murky.  Once they were all put together, I was slightly amazed to discover that I loved them.

I’m not entirely sure what happened with the piecing. I laid them out in the same spiral rainbow configuration as I’d used previously, and one of them came together, while the other somehow got a little switched around. Personally, I still think it’s lovely, and it’s these little slip ups that make a handmade item so much nicer than something that comes out of a factory. On the off chance that I get a bunch of negative comments about this one, I’ll just keep it for myself.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New DustyHonestly, I want to keep most of these for myself, but I’m trying not to get too attached. And how many table toppers does one really need? I might make a few for myself when I get back from Sydney.Rock Candy Jaybird Quilts Kona New Dusty

I’m nearing the end of my current run of Rock Candy table toppers, or in other words, the point at which I run out of charm packs that are suitable for this project. It turns out that not all gifts can be created equal. I purchased a couple of Kaffe Fasset packs, but didn’t like the fabric for this project, so I’ll have to come up with another idea for them. Hopefully something will hit soon, because I’d like to get all the gifts over and done with and get back to making things for myself. Fortunately, I’m not heading home until February, so I’ve got some time to get these all quilted and bound.

Here’s my Rock Candy gallery so far:

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

