Sewing for Sydney

I’ve been staring at my keyboard for some time now, wondering how to write this post. I’ve finally decided that it’s not necessary for me to say terribly much. Suffice it to say that this has been a horrifying and tragic week for us Australians.

Tragedy has a way of bringing diverse groups together, and no one comes together quite like the quilting world does. Devised and curated by Josh at Molli Sparkles, sewists from around the world are creating these hash tag blocks, to made in to quilts for the families and loved ones of Tori Johnson and Katrina Dawson, who tragically lost their lives on Tuesday morning. The response so far has been wonderful, and I can only hope that Josh gets the 1,080 blocks he needs over the next month.  It’s great to keep seeing this pop up on quilting blogs and pages across the world, and I really hope there won’t be any problem reaching that goal.

If you’d like to donate a block, please read the instructions on the Molli Sparkles blog here. Blocks can be posted to either an Australian or a US address. They’re quick to make, although I will admit to not coming anywhere close to Sam Hunter’s fifteen minutes a block.#sewingforsydney

I really wish I’d been able to write more, but honestly, I’m still too emotional at the moment.

Until next time: happier sewing. – Jane

P.S: I did tell you that the Fossil Fern would eventually be making a comeback. I chose it because it was the brightest, happiest, fabric I had in my stash that met the criteria of reading as a solid.

I’ve decided that there’s definitely something off with my quarter inch patchwork foot, as these all came out at 5¼, rather than 5½, but I’m told that they can be worked in anyway.  And if the initial response to this is anything to go by, perhaps they won’t be needed anyway.

I’ll have to track down some grid paper and work out exactly where my quarter inch is and determine whether the foot needs replacing, or I can just fiddle with my needle position. If you haven’t used this method before, I highly recommend checking Mandy’s tutorial.

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

