A Christmas Gift for Myself

With so much gift making for others, I decided I had to finally get around to making some necessities for myself.

Last week, I was cleaning out my stash, and found four quarters by Joli Pomme for Cosmo Textiles.  I bought them on a bit of a whim in October of 2013, not having any real plan in mind for them.  According to my receipt, it’s supposed to be Halloween fabric, but Nick and I decided that it was more fairy tale fabric, and are happy to live with it year round.

They’re a cotton-linen blend, that’s significantly heavier than standard quilting cotton.  I couldn’t find fabric of a similar weight to go with them, so I did my best to find additional fabric (although I couldn’t get an exact match for the black), and threw these together.fun pillow2

When I purchased the furniture in 2010, I started with four cushions.  Then along came Jolly, who was so sweet and easy to deal with for about three weeks, before he became Chew Monster from the depths of Hades.  Only one cushion survived, and we’ve been living with only one ever since.  We’ve been pretty good at not fighting over the single cushion, but new cushions have been on my to do list for a very long time.

fun pollows1I had a feeling that quilting these would take away from, rather than add to, the overall look, so I decided to let the fabric speak for itself.  Additionally, because I was working with fat quarters, I had to do something a little different with these cushions than I normally would.  I much prefer envelope style cushions, but there wasn’t near enough fabric for that, so I put in zippers.  I’m pretty sure the last time I put a zipper in something was 2010.  It was just as fussy and annoying as I’d remembered, although I found this tutorial, which made it a little easier than normal to put them in.

This is how I spent a large part of Christmas Eve, and my little Christmas gift to myself.

Until next time: happy quilting.

– Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

