Radio Way Top

Here’s another quilt top that’s been sitting around for weeks, and another creation from the Kona Sunset color way. This one is Radio Way, designed by Julie Herman of Jaybird Quilts.

This was one of those situations in which I felt that buying the pattern was unnecessary, but I couldn’t in good conscience make the quilt doing so – I’ll have to thank Sam Hunter for that one.

After buying the pattern, I sort of promptly ignored it (sorry Julie!) and got about piecing this my own way. I really wanted to get this done quickly, so while Julie creates a scrappier version by cutting her fabric down to size then piecing the strips, I sewed my WOF strips together, and then cut them. I think there’s a lot to be said for the scrappier approach to this quilt, but I didn’t feel that, with everything else going on around here at the moment, that was going to work for me timing-wise. I might have another stab at this at a later date, and make a more exciting version. Still, after having to make an extremely fiddly quilt twice (it will be up on the blog next month, I promise) it was wonderful to be able to get this done in two days. Using my method it would have been possible to do it in one if I hadn’t been overly distracted by whatever I had going on Netflix at the time.

Jaybird Quilts Radio Way Kona Evening

So, this is in the pile of things to be quilted when I can find the time. I was hoping to use this on the airplane, but I might have to take my Kite Flight instead. It’s not such a good size for it, but there’s only so much time I can spend at Laurena’s between now and when I leave.

The extremely fiddly way of putting together the Rock Candy tops is winning for the time being, but hopefully I’ll be able to show you my latest additions to my collection some time this week. I’m simultaneously making four, to get a better idea of whether the new method is really that superior to the old, and then I’ll have another two after that. I suppose I should start thinking about backings.

Until next time, happy stitching!

-Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

2 thoughts on “Radio Way Top”

Join in the Discussion

