The Update that Explains the Silence

It clearly didn’t take me long to break one of my new years resolutions, but I think there was good reason.

There was a point where I knew I wouldn’t be able to do the weekly post, but I was hoping it wouldn’t take over a month for me to get something up.

Of course, because this is my life, things didn’t work out the way we’d hoped they would with the apartment in Salem. I can’t help but be annoyed with my buyer’s agent, who told us that offering asking price on a short sale was going to be not only completely hassle free, but that it would also lead to quick settlement. It wasn’t until we were reaching the end of the bank’s grace period (and isn’t 90 days a ridiculous amount of time for them to keep your deposit and not make a decision?) that we decided to start looking elsewhere. It was actually a real estate agent in Nevada who told me that banks are generally not accepting short sales at the moment for below market value, and often they want more than market value for these properties now… well, depending on the market. In any event, it was becoming increasingly obvious that the bank wasn’t going to accept my offer. That is, until we withdrew it, at which point they sent several emails to my lawyers about sending out appraisers, etc. What? Were they serious? Just give me my deposit back and accept that is your failure. Do I get any interest on said deposit? I’m pretty sure they’ve been earning some.

So, we put the apartment failure aside relatively quickly and decided that instead of moving elsewhere in Massachusetts, we’d move across the country, which is how we ended up in Las Vegas, NV, (I’m only clarifying because as we were driving through, we discovered a Las Vegas, NM, which I’d never heard of before).  We arrived safely, though not for lack of trying by other drivers to kill us.  Do those semis ever look before they switch lanes?  The pets arrived a few days later, and still a little a put out by the whole thing, but I think they’ll be alright in a couple of days.

I was sad to leave my quilting group, my local shop, and Laurena.  I’ll be seeing a lot of them in April, because of all the charmingly non-refundable classes I booked at MQX in New Hampshire.  Honestly, even though it’s now going to be an expensive pain in the behind to get there, I really want to improve my quilting, and don’t have the patience to wait until MQX Mid-West.

Of course, there were a couple of weeks of frenzied packing, which meant I couldn’t post the few things I’d made, and a week of driving (almost, because I took the long route to avoid snow, and I think that might be the best decision I’ve ever made), and we are still waiting on all our furniture, etc., so nothing that I made in the lead up to my Sydney trip is going to be able to be finished.

There is a longarm rental not too far from here, but the machines are a brand I’ve never heard of, they force you to take an introductory class, and those only happen every couple of weeks. Too much hassle. My friends can wait.

Full disclosure, I did travel with my sewing machine, but I hate quilting on my domestic. I just never got a point of feeling comfortable with it. It’s with me because I have a quilt that needs binding, although at this point, no table on which to trim it, or set my machine up (because, no Nick, you can’t use a sewing machine that’s on the floor) but at least I have the binding cut and halfway sewn together.

On the plus side, there seems to be a great quilting community here. I’m basing this on two things. The first, being the frequency with which Renae is in town on business. The second, being that after being here only a handful of days I discovered that Tula is giving a bit of a talk at Quiltique, which is really technically in another, adjacent, town, but I’ll count it.

I guess it’s off to make myself look half presentable so I don’t feel like the walking dead when I meet up with a couple of friends to go and listen to what Tula has to say. I’m fairly certain she’s talking about the Bernina that she decorated, so it’s all a bit irrelevant to me, as my machine is only just over a year old, and doesn’t need replacing. Still, I’m hoping she’ll have fabric samples with her, as she two lines coming out soon, and the digital pictures that are used for sale are usually a poor representation of the real thing.

Until next time, happy quilting, safe travels, and best wishes for whatever you may be doing.

– Jane

P.S: In case any of you are interested, here’s how the drive broke down:

Saturday, January 31st – a very late start because the movers didn’t finish up until 5pm.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.17.21 AM

Sunday, February 1st.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.17.50 AM

Monday, February 2nd.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.18.21 AM

Tuesday, February 3rd.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.18.48 AM

Wednesday, February 4th.Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.19.12 AM

Thursday, February 5th.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.19.39 AM

Friday, February 6th.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.20.08 AM

Total drive:

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 8.35.14 AM

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

3 thoughts on “The Update that Explains the Silence”

Join in the Discussion

