Rock Candy: Kona New Bright, II

Did I give everyone the impression that I was finished making these Rock Candy tops? For convenience sake, I decided to revisit some of my favorite colorways.  I still have two more sets to make, and one that’s been put together and is ready for photographs.  I promise that the final installation will be something a little different, as I finally managed to find a charm pack that had the requisite number of individual prints in it.  Of course, I’m no longer on a time frame, so we’ll see how long it takes me to get around to them.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New Brights Purple

I was really hoping that I’d manage to get at least some of these before we went to Sydney (and eventually I’ll get around to going through my travel snaps and picking some photos for a blog post) but unfortunately the last minute cross-country move, coupled with the movers not delivering our furniture until the day before we left, meant that I didn’t get anything finished on time. Fortunately everyone understood this, but I was a bit disappointed.  It seems that I ever time I travel, I have a big list of projects that I want to get finished, and it never happens in time.  I’ll have to post a few of these once they’re done, but next time I’ll still have a ton of these to give out.

Jaybird Quilts Rock Candy Kona New Brights Navy

I’m not sure that these are particularly gift worthy anyway. We’ll call these, ‘the pair that I obviously made in a rush.’ It’s amazing how quilting can minimize the look of mismatched seams, so we’ll see what I can do with them.  I’m not worried about the slightly out of place pieces, but I do think I should be able to do better on the seam matching.  It’s a little disappointing, but not a big deal.  Everyone has off days, but I think that most people just walk away from the machine at that point.

Well, at least having to pack up my stash uncovered some more interesting backing fabrics, and it was nice to get away from the neutrals.

Jaybird Quilts Kona New Brights Color

Here’s my Rock Candy gallery so far:

Until next time, happy stitching!

-Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

Join in the Discussion

