Sunday Stash #1: The Quilt Kit Edition

In order to get in to the habit of writing more regularly, I’ve decided to join some link ups, and the first is Sunday Stash, run by the fabulous Molli Sparkles.

I’ve bought a number of quilt kits since I started sewing, and I haven’t used a single one of them. They’re a great way of collecting fabric at a lower price than buying yardage, but ultimately, I’m usually not particularly interested in making a quilt that’s exactly the same as a thousand others out there.   That’s a somewhat silly thing to say, because of course no two quilts are entirely alike, but it’s just the first thing that comes to mind when I think of quilt kits.

Recently, I purchased two kits, and I do plan on using both of them for their intended purposes – although I think I’ll mix up the blocks a little, to personalize the quilts to some extent. Hopefully I don’t end up with an exact match to anyone else’s, but that’s always a gamble when one makes a popular pattern.

Tula Pink Marquise and Aurifil Thread

I finally gave in and purchased Tula Pink’s Marquise quilt kit, which uses her Moon Shine line. I managed to find one on Etsy that wasn’t ridiculously over priced, and I purchased the threads separately, which was a little disappointing, because all of Tula’s other kits come with matching thread, but I think those are put together by I Heart Tula Pink, rather than Free Spirit. I was very excited when everything arrived on the same day, and I’m really looking forward to diving in to this.

Tula Pink Marquise and Aurifil Thread Open

It’s been a long time since I’ve done anything in the way of English Paper Piecing, so it will be interesting to see how this goes. I imagine it’s one of those projects that might take several years to complete. I found this video of Tula’s debut of the fabric line and quilt kit, and of course, realized that I’d been doing everything incorrectly. I really wouldn’t have thought six to ten stitches per inch would be enough to hold, but it’s certainly going to get me through the piecing faster than my standard twenty or so stitches per inch.

My other acquisition was Jaybird Quilts’ Gravity kit. I’m such a sucker for bright solids, and I think I’ll have a lot of fun playing around with this. I also plan for this one to be an on going project, but hopefully not quite a block of the month quilt. I think I’ll try to get it out every couple of weeks or so. Hopefully I’ll be able to find the time.

Jaybird Quilts Gravity Quilt Kit

I’m sure you’ll be seeing a ridiculous number of work in progress posts about both of these.

Happy sewing!

-Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

6 thoughts on “Sunday Stash #1: The Quilt Kit Edition”

  1. I know exactly what you mean about kits. I shy away from them. i used to work in an LQS, and we employees all had to make samples that were then kitted up and sold. I just never understood wanting to make the exact same quilt as someone else. Inspired by, similar too, etc., but exact?? Not for me.

    1. I decided that there is some room to be creative with a kit, if you mix up the colors and the blocks a little, but it’s amazing how many people don’t. With the exception of one (which was an amazing quilt, but again, I don’t want something that a thousand other people have made) I’ve only purchased mystery quilt kits. I didn’t end up being hugely inspired by the patterns. But the kits generally sell at a lower prices than yardage, so it’s a good way to get fabric at a lower price. The only bother is that some of them are precut to strange widths (I have one that has a whole bunch of 8 1/2 x WOF strips in it) so that makes it more difficult to repurpose. Not impossible. I have some ideas for that one, but am mostly just thinking about it. It’s been a year.

Join in the Discussion

