The Sad Post

It turns out that there will be no MQX for me this year.  Unfortunately I made it all the way to Boston and found out that I had to return home as soon as possible.  It’s not a serious issue, thankfully: just something that needs to be attended to.

I suppose I should be happy that I didn’t get all the way to Manchester.  That would have been devastating.  And also that I could get on an extremely early flight, which means that I only have to sit around in the airport for another four hours.  Boston Logan is just not a fun place to spend the night, but at least it’s not completely shut down.  At the moment I’m simultaneously wondering whether there’s a safe consumption level of Dunkin’ Donuts, and why I used to eat it all the time.  It’s the only option at the moment though.

I’m so disappointed.  After all of the planning, and the travel, and the expense, and the anticipation, it’s all come to nothing.  I might try for MQX Mid-West later in the year, and I’ll take a look at what’s going on closer to home, but I’m far too tired to think about that right now.

I was really looking forward to catching up with some old friends, making some new ones, and learning some wonderful skills.

I hope you’re all having a much better time that I am at the moment.  I know I’ll feel better once I get home, get some sleep, and get back in front of my machine I’ll feel a lot better.  It all just seems very far away at the moment.

On the up side, I did manage to finish that half block of my Marquise quilt that I told you all about yesterday, and construct another one, which I’ll show you when it’s pressed and looking pretty – because everyone brings out their sewing on planes, right?  I think I might be a bit too tired for sewing on the way home, but we’ll see.

Until next time, I just wish you happiness.  Honestly, this whole experience is just disappointing beyond words.

– Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

3 thoughts on “The Sad Post”

  1. I’m so sorry Jane! That would be so disappointing and airports can be depressing at the best of times. When you’re tired and sad, they are like the seventh circle of hell. I hope you can get rested up, take care of your urgent issue successfully and start making plans for the next MQX.

    1. Thank you Ida. It wasn’t as bad as I’d expected, but I’ll put that down to airports having electrical outlets everywhere.
      I’m waiting for the class list for Mid-West to be posted. I’d really like to do something this year and not have to wait another twelve months, but that’s not to say that I can’t do them both. Thanks again.

Join in the Discussion

