Gravity – Horizon

I’m catching up on some very belated posts. Fortunately it looks like I’m getting up to date with the photographs, so hopefully I’ll be more on top of keeping my posts timely from now on.

A few weeks ago I started work on the Jaybird Quilts’ Gravity kit that had been sitting around for a while. Here are my Horizon blocks:

Jaybird Quilts Gravity Horizon

My advice on this quilt so far: read the instructions several times, then start cutting. The four and half inch diamonds used in this block are slightly too large to get two complete pieces out of the width of the ten inch squares provided. Because the ruler/template gives the option to take a notch of the long corners for easier piece alignment, the pattern suggests cutting the pieces in such a way that the seam allowance in those corners hangs off the edges a little. Of course, I read the instructions when the kit first arrived, and didn’t look at them particularly closely when I went to cut, so I did cut the first piece incorrectly, and only got two diamonds out of it, rather than four. Fortunately, there was so much excess fabric in this block that it didn’t matter.

Aside from the cutting issue, which was very quickly resolved, and a few return trips to the design wall, these blocks came together really quickly. I should hope so, after the number of Rock Candy tops I’ve made; it’s the same process on a larger scale.

Jaybird Quilts Gravity 2

As I was already cutting small triangles for the bonus pillow, I decided that I’d put one of each color aside that, and to cut all my excess to the same size. Hopefully I’ll end up with enough of them to make something wonderful at the end of this project. It all depends on the amount of left overs I get from the other blocks, and what colors I end up with.

Jaybird Quilts Gravity Horizon 1

And I know I said I was going to mix the blocks up a little, but to be honest, when I really sat down to it, rearranging everything made my head hurt, so I stuck with original colors for the blocks. Julie mentioned something in a recent blog post about the likelihood of all the owners of all the kits using the exact same color placements as each other, and I thought about it, and decided that with over one hundred shades in the quilt, there have to be thousands of ways of arranging them, right? I think I’ll stick with Julie’s colors from here on out, but try to place them differently within the blocks

Until next time, happy quilting!

– Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

2 thoughts on “Gravity – Horizon”

Join in the Discussion

