WIP Wednesday #4: Gravity – Orbit

Let the diagonal seam matching commence in earnest!

Orbit
Orbit

Honestly, these also came together very easily.  I’m really enjoying how fuss free these last two sets of blocks have been.  Hopefully it keeps up.

Orbit
Orbit

Here’s my Gravity progress thus far:

You can read about my Horizon and Constellation blocks too if you’re so inclined.

I’d love to hear from others who are making this quilt.  Please leave me a comment if you are.

I’m linking up again for WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced.

Until next time, happy quilting!

– Jane

Published by

Jane Victoria / Jolly and Delilah

Machine quilter and fabric enthusiast, currently living in Las Vegas, NV. www.jollyanddelilahquilts.com www.facebook.com/jollyanddelilah Twitter @jollyanddelilah Instagram @jollyanddelilah

8 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday #4: Gravity – Orbit”

  1. Oh my goodness, how on earth do you get your points to line up so well? This is fantastic! (And also thanks for pointing me to the Gravity quilt — so pretty. I may need to make one too!)

    1. Thank you!

      Really, it’s probably as much about luck as it is about technique. My diagonal seams and points have improved a lot after making twenty something Rock Candy tops. It eventually clicked when I realized that I was marking my seams on the outside of the quarter inch, then seeing a very scant seam, so of course they didn’t match.

      Fortunately quilting is very forgiving, and most people won’t notice a couple of mismatched seams on a finished quilt.

      I might see if I can put together a post on seam matching soon. It’s something I’ve been considering for a while.

      Thanks again,
      Jane

  2. I am getting ready to best-press my fabrics to do my Orbit blocks. I saw the finished Gravity quilt hanging at Quiltique today and was surprised at how big it is. I know it is 96×97, but seeing it in person really got me excited! I am hoping this will be a quilt for my bed!

    1. I’ve been admiring that quilt this afternoon. It’s wonderful, isn’t it? Unfortunately it’s not quite big enough for my bed. I’m wondering whether I just wants to add a border of they light grey, or go lighter and add more diamonds.

    1. Thanks Laura. I’ll definitely take a look at your progress. I really did think it would be more fiddly than this. Some of the upcoming blocks are, and the background looks a little painful, but the result is so spectacular.

Join in the Discussion

